Maple Syrup Contest Winners

Winners from the Annual Maple Syrup Judging Contest


Grade A: Golden Color and Delicate Taste

1st Place: Sugarbush Farm – Bill Padgett – Rhinelander

2nd Place: Maplewood Sugar Bush – Dave and Cathy Lowery – Watersmeet, MI

3rd Place: Ejnik’s Sugar Shack – Robert Ejnik – Gresham, WI

Grade A: Amber Color and Rich Taste

1st Place:

Also “People’s Choice Flavor Award” winner (this is a flavor award, based on being tasted by several people attending the event)

Buhrandt Farms, Inc. – Steven Buhrandt – Suring, WI

2nd Place: Lindy’s Maple Ridge – Lindy Mezei – Pearson, WI

3rd Place: Friess Lake’s Finest – Michael Dodge – Hubertus, WI

Grade A: Dark Color and Robust Taste

1st Place:

Also the “2016 Northwoods Maple Syrup of the Year Winner”  (this is the overall winner selected by our judges – the best syrup of all)

  Inthewoods Sugar Bush – Jesse Wagner – Manitowoc, WI

image0092nd Place: Richfield Historical Society – Del Schmechel – Hubertus, WI

3rd Place:    Grampa Skel’s – Maple Lane Sugar Bush – Jim Skelton – Three Lakes, WI

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Visitor Guide